PTT | Team Members

Ana Sofia Fernandes

PhD in Pharmacy (specialty of Toxicology).

She is an Assistant Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology at Universidade Lusófona.

Her main research interest is the potential therapeutic role of redox-active molecules, especially in the context of breast cancer treatment.

She has several communications and publications, an international award and a national Honor.

PhD Integrated Members

L. Monteiro Rodrigues
General Director

MSc, PhD in Human Physiology, he’s the founder and Director of CBIOS.

He is the Director of the School of Health Sciences and Technologies and of the MSc in Pharmaceutical Sciences (Univ. Lusófona).

Academic, mostly dedicated to skin physiology and pathophysiology research specially focusing quantification of skin properties, mathematical modeling of cutaneous variables, safety and efficacy trials.

He has published more than 350 papers related with his interest areas.

He is the founder and President of the Portuguese Society of Cosmetological Sciences (SPCC).

David Ferreira

Professor at Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias and consultant for pharmaceutical companies in pre-clinical pharmacological trials.

He coordinates research teams in the areas of biosensors and applied pharmacology to mathematical modeling, brain function and organ perfusion during anaesthesia.

He is author and co-author of several books/book chapters and international publications in SCI journals.

His main research interest is applied pharmacology in animal models.

Nuno Saraiva

Lecturer in virology, cell and molecular biology at ECTS – ULHT, where he also develops his research projects as a member of CBiOS.

Nuno is an MSc in microbiology and molecular biology (from FC, Lisbon University), and a PhD in virology and cell biology (from Imperial College, London).

His main research interest is tumorigenesis, focusing on the molecular mechanisms underlying metastization. Nuno has published work in molecular virology, apoptosis, Ca2+ homeostasis, membrane proteins, cell migration and adhesion.

Liliana Mendes

PhD, is an Assistant Professor of Pharmacotheraphy, Clinic Pharmacy and Epidemiology and Pharmacoepidemiology Methodology in the School of Health Sciences and Technologies (Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias).

She attended the University of Lisboa and graduated in Pharmaceutical Sciences in 2007.

Her doctoral studies were undertaken at the University of Beira Interior.

Her main research interest is pharmacoepidemiology, with publications in this research area.

Margarida Alves

Professor of Molecular Biology at Faculdade de Medicina Veterinária – Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias.

Graduated in Applied Chemistry / Biotechnology (FCT-UNL), MSc in Medical Parasitology (IHMT-UNL), PhD in Biomedical Sciences (UNL).

She is author of several publications and communications in international and national peer-reviewed journals and meetings.

Her principal interests are cancer molecular genetics, mainly canine lymphoma and mammary tumours, and molecular detection of vector-borne agents.

Ana Elisabete Pires

PhD in Molecular Biology, she is an auxiliary professor of Genetics and Animal Improvement, Immunology, Biochemistry and Cellular Biology at Veterinary Medicine course / Universidade Lusófona, Portugal.

She´s a research collaborator at CBA-Centre for Environmental Biology, Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa; Instituto Nacional de Investigação Agrária e Veterinária, I.P.; and CEDOC-Chronic Diseases, Faculdade de Medicina da Universidade Nova de Lisboa.

Her main research interests are population Genetics (domestic dogs) and more recently in immunology.

Lénio Ribeiro

Dr. Lénio Ribeiro has been a veterinary since 2000.

He received his graduate degree in Veterinary Medicine from the University of Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro (Portugal) in 1999 and his Doctorate degree from the University of Leon (Spain) in 2013.

His research and specialization are focused on monitoring of anaesthetic depth.

He is currently an Assistant Professor at the Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias (Portugal).

He is also one of the owners of the Centro Hospitalar Veterinário (Porto, Portugal), where he is the responsible for the services of anaesthesia, emergency and intensive care.

He has published articles and presented papers in the field of anaesthesia in international journals and conferences.

Ana Sousa Lopes

Ana Sousa Lopes has completed her degree in Veterinary Medicine, by the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal in 2001.

In the same year she started working in the area of Reproduction, focusing on in vitro fertilization techniques.

Ana has a Ph.D in Veterinary Reproduction and Obstetrics, awarded by the University of Copenhagen, Denmark.

During her Ph.D project she developed a worldwide awarded technology that allows for the measurement of oxygen consumption in single embryos.

She pursued her post doctoral studies in the Cornell University, USA, University of Adelaide, Australia, University of Porto, Portugal and in the Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium.

She worked as human IVF specialist in Hospital Sao Joao, Portugal (2008) and in the Hospital of Leuven, Belgium (2009-2012).

She has been invited teacher for the Disciplines of Reproduction and Obstetrics and Cell Biology, both in Portugal and in Denmark.

She is the author of more than 40 scientific publications and has been invited speaker in numerous seminars and international conferences.

She is a member of the European Society for Human Reproduction and Embryology, International Embryo Transfer Society and Portuguese Veterinary Society.

Currently, Ana is Assistant Professor of Reproduction in Lusófona University and coordinates research activities in the Reproduction and Development Research Unit of the same institution.

  • Lídia Palma
  • Andreia Santos
  • João Rodrigues
  • Daniel Murta

PhD Collaborators

  • Liliana Tavares
  • Álvaro Lopes
  • Alexandra Sanfins
  • Olivier Pellegrino
  • Hugo Ferreira
  • Filipe Inácio
  • António Hipolito de Aguiar

PhD Students

  • Ana Catarina Florido
  • João Costa
  • Raquel Rodrigues dos Santos
  • Rogério Nunes
  • Henrique Silva
  • Clemente Rocha